Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-02-2013, 07:20   #1

Miami - Bimini Next Weekend

Howdy,

I noticed there are several threads on FL to Bimini crossings, but I have a bit more of a specific situation and hoping there are some veterans on here that can share some sound advice.

I'm chartering a Lagoon 440 Cat starting on March 2nd, and I'll have it until the 10th. I have extensive blue water experience, but not on a cat, so I still have that first-timer catamaran anxiety...knowing that I don't have a few thousand pounds of ballast to keep me bobbing like a cork if all goes wrong. The only other time I crossed the Gulf Stream was East to West on a Swan 65 in gnarly north winds, east of Cape Hatteras.

We would like to spend the majority of our charter in Bimini, but the forecast right now isn't all that great for our one-week charter. Planning to leave from No Name Harbor. Winds out of the Northwest (let's say 10-20kn, for now) and cooler temps...granted, we're still about a week away from departure and things can change. Of course getting back to FL is just as, if not more important than getting to Bimini with our limited window. Can anyone shed some insight?
JacoLTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 08:24   #2

Boat: Finnsailer 38
Re: Miami - Bimini Next Weekend