Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Atlantic & the Caribbean
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-10-2016, 13:14   #1

Boat: Jensen, Cal 25, Tayana 37
Need advise, Newport beach to FL to Bahamas

this is the most ambitious thing that I have taken on AND, I'm a novice ocean sailor! The plans are in place, boat will be hauled out of the water on Dec. 5 for bottom paint, demasting, rigging work, and some other stuff, and it will be placed on a truck for shipment to a location in Florida yet to be determined. I am retired with a small RV and a couple of rescue dogs that will drive to meet the boat in FL. From there, I plan to have the mast stepped, have solar installed and any other work that I need to get done. More importantly, intend to hang around the docks to gain local knowledge for the trip that I would like to commence in January and stay on until hurricane season approaches.

Now, I find myself down to the knitty-gritty logistical planning where experience sure would help. Here are my question:

1. Can you recommend a marina or boat yard in FL that will do this work and allow me to hang around until I leave OR, once the work is complete, transient docks that would be good for departure? course, winds, tides, etc. I hear a lot about picking the right weather window but have no experience in that area to draw from

2. Dogs (2 Chihuahuas!) I have read up on the requirements of vaccinations but I have also read that a lot of the islands do not even allow dogs? Any other tips about long sails with dogs? Potty Strategies? :P