Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2019, 12:12   #1

Advice on buying used boat

Hello all,
A total newbie question. I just started sailing again after 25 years, so please be gentle

I am 47 years old, and I am looking to buy a used boat maybe 38-40ft for sailing until early retirement (+\-60), and then to use it as a live aboard afterwards. Mostly in the Med, and semi circumnavigation.

I do not know much about the durability of glass boats, and I was wondering what is the best step to take right now.

For my questions, please assume the target boat has been cared well by the previous owner.
I was looking at boats (that I could finance now) built around 2000-2010. That would be about 30 years old by the time I retire. Plus will be used many years after that.
Can glass boats handle that much age, assuming I take good care of it?

Riggings and regular maintenance is a given. I guess the overall structure is what worries me. Things that cannot be replaced.

My other option would be to buy a smaller and older vessel until retirement, and hope I have the cash to buy a larger one then
But I rather buy one now and invest on it for retirement if it can last that long with good care.

Any word of advice is greatly appreciated.
Cheers
iEMH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2019, 12:43   #2

Boat: Leopard Catamaran
Re: Advice on buying used boat

Fiberglass resin boats made in the 1960's are still being used.