Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2014, 01:31   #1

Australian Tax Help

Hi I am an Australian resident about to return with my yacht I bought overseas but can not afford to pay GST and duty! What will they do , will the impound boat, will they let me pay it off! Any ideas

Cheers
Exit door is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2014, 02:12   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Multihulls - cats and Tris
Re: Australian tax help

Where was it built? Duty may not apply in some cases.
Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2014, 02:14   #3

France mate, bought it in Fiji,
Old 30-05-2014, 02:19   #4
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Multihulls - cats and Tris

Sadly 5% duty and then 10% GST on the value of the boat plus Duty. A tax that is taxed on a tax, its great work if you can get it. Have you approached Customs direct and asked the question, they are surprisingly pleasant if you ask rather than try something on.
Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2014, 02:22   #5

Boat: Passport 41, Custom Perry in steel.

Its not good, the only delay option I have heard of was someone similar, Delivery skipper brought it into Brisbane, owner came to a arrangement where he was allowed to sail it around to his own port of Adelaide. The only other option was in Bundaberg where the vessel foreign owners freely volunteered the yacht was up for sale. It was impounded. Not allowed out for owners own use. but viewable, it sold after 9 months owners had to make a real good deal to move it. There may very well be extra fees to be payed. Think you will be in bad books, unless you kiss a*s real good.

Must you bring it back now, I suggest you will lose access to it till you couff up the doe.

Good Luck
Oceanride007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2014, 02:26   #6