Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2018, 11:38   #1

Boat: Woods Mira 35 Catamaran
Avoiding coastal surf? How do you do it?

Hey, just happened to look at the port of Nazare in Portugal on a set of Cm93 charts.
As it goes I know that North to the lighthouse there is a world famous surfspot.
Great for surf pros, surely not for a sailboat hugging the coast.

On the charts there seems to be no indication to this.
So I am thinking, if I am completely new to an area and do not know about this and have only charts, how do I avoid getting accidentally into something like this?

I know that it's prudent to keep a distance from shore. Still wondering though why there are no indications on the charts....
Old 19-08-2018, 13:07   #2

Boat: Columbia 8.7
Re: Avoiding coastal surf? How do you do it?

It would help if you posted the chart and identified the spot you're talking about.
CFS Klopas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2018, 13:14   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters

I dont kjow, it’s pretty famous. I think you either know what he means or not. But, of course, a chart pic would be nice.

That said I’ve wondered the same. I see tide rips on charts all the time. I would guess some of the Hawaiian islands have similar features.

Are you using a raster chart of the official charts or a vector chart? Maybe it’s on the official charts but not the electronic vector charts?
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2018, 13:15   #4

Location: San Diego, California - Read about our circumnavigation at www.rutea.com
Boat: Contest 48