Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2015, 10:48   #1

Boat: 2005 Precision 23
Centerboard pros and cons?

I've been sailing my Catalina 22 around the bays in NW FL for a few years now and am planning to up-size soon. Being used to a swing keel on my boat, my eye was caught by an 86 Island Packet for sale that has a centerboard. The swing keel I've used for years is really handy for getting into shoal water and most hardware is easily accesible (even if I need to put the boat back on the trailer for repairs), which is important for dealing with the pivot pin. Wondering if anyone has experience with a centerboard on larger boats; maint issues, usability, etc?
thanks in advance
Mike
mhansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 11:43   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Centerboard pros and cons?

Have owned two Keel/centerboard boats. The first one had an issue with the board pendant getting eaten up by electrolysis. Had to haul and replace it at least once a year. Current boat has no issues like that but installed a synthetic line pendant which has removed any possible problem with electrolysis. Other than that, no other problems with boards. Haul outs have some issues as you have to let the boat hang in the straps overnight to paint the center board. Not a big thing unless you run into a yard that screws you charging an exorbitant few to do it. Board may occasionally make noise when deployed though have hardly noticed it under sail on either boat. Will definitely make noise if lowered at anchor but then why would you want the board down at anchor.