Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2014, 17:30   #1

details of long travel!?

Hello! this is my first time on here. i was looking for insight on travels around the globe. i have been doing research for about 2 months now and while there is alot of some information there seems to be a lot that is barely touched. i am from Minnesota and have zero sailing experience. i have lots of boating experience though. a brief run through on my intentions are buy a small sailboat (17-21ft) and learn what its about. how to sail, navigate,what to do when etc. this i am confident in learning mostly on my own. in 4 years after i get finish my degree me and my wife are going to buy a bigger sailboat. budget for boat is about 20k and another 10k to have it set up for circumnavigation. i have some of the basics written down in my handbook for traveling this far. but i am missing alot of data. i have huge gaps in my timeline that i simply dont know what part of the waters are safe and when. we would like to take one of the 2 basic routes. either leave from california and go to hawaii skipping across various islands until we reach Australia or New zealand. then going up and around into the gulf of aden and the red sea making the various stops along the way. up into the mediteranean. i know pirates are bad there as well. or. we will go south of africa and go around completely going up to the mediteranean that way. alot of people say going down to south america or mexico before crossing the pacific is also a good way. im not sure, i have no sailing experience remember. haha. what i would like to know is specific routes used an