Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-05-2017, 19:06   #1

Boat: Custom 55
Heavy weather, can we be honest?

Hi Forum,

Over the years, I've had a passing interest in how others report their heavy weather experiences.

Most often, it's something like "when I'm sailing in 50 knots of wind, I do X"

Or "We had 55 knots for 3 straight days!"

Man, I make my living offshore on the Bering Sea in the middle of winter and that much wind for that long is extremely rare even up there. It happens, but it's not like cruising boats are out enjoying the Aleutians in November.

Others make it sound like in their travels, encountering full-blown storms is commonplace to the point of being routine.

Really? Honestly?

I've been sailing since I was a kid (45 now), and have racked up something in the neighborhood of 50,000 miles by now. Lots of passages of a week or more, one or two of a couple of weeks or thereabouts. Most of this has been done in the trades, but I've been to Alaska a couple of times, down the west coast a few times, a couple of trips to Newfoundland, one N. Atlantic crossing.

Anyway, I've been doing this for long enough that I feel like I can call myself experienced.

In all that sailing, I have only encountered two proper gales, meaning SUSTAINED winds of 34 knots or higher, and only once have I seen SUSTAINED storm force winds, and that was just for a few hours.

Sustained is important. I think that a lot of people look at the highest gust and call that their wind speed- it's not. A 50 knot gust does not mean you were sailing in F10.

So, tell me-am I just lucky?