Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2018, 04:52   #1

Boat: Hunter 33
Jib Sheet Tension

Hello

This is my first sailboat and I have been out maybe 5-6 times now. I finally was out on a day with 15-20 knot winds and when close hauled I was getting a lot of flutter on the jib (luff) so I would tighten the sheet until it stops. I'm afraid I'm going to break something because I have to go like really tight (even on the low speed on the winch).

I do know how to adjust the cars so that's not my problem, I would just like to know if this is normal so I don't end up breaking something

I'm self-taught from youtube
RobD527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 04:56   #2
cruiser

Re: Jib Sheet Tension

You need to either adjust the car placement for the jib sheet or tighten the leech line if your sail has one, or possibly both. The leech line is a thin line which runs down the trailing edge of the sail. First try moving the car a few notches closer to the bow along the jib car rail.
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 05:04   #3

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33

Just to clarify: what part of the sail was luffing? Was it just fluttering along the leech? Or was the whole sail luffing?

If the entire sail, or much if it, is luffing:

Assuming its properly trimmed for close hauled then you may be "pinching" (pointed just a few degrees too high). This is quite easy to do, especially if less experienced. Try falling off just a few degrees and see if the luffing stops.

If just the leech is luffing:

When you have the jib sheet very tight, how does the foot of the jib look? Is it very tight and flat? If so, then car needs to move forward.

The leech line is just intended for minor adjustments, not to eliminate a lot of loose leech.