Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2014, 09:13   #1

Boat: 2011 Lagoon 450F
Learning from "ground zero"

I hope this is the right forum to put this on....

I guess I'm looking for some moral support more than anything.

I have no sailing experience. So, I'm learning to sail at ground zero. I'm 47, (and, btw.. it took me a minute to remember exactly how old I am!)

My husband and I are in the same place, neither of us have sailed and we both are very excited about learning. We do have some classes scheduled. We have an intro to sailing class next month.. then we are doing a week long "live-a-board" class to get our 101,103,104,114 certifications. That will be in September.

All sounds good, right? Well.. here's the problem. I'm really struggling with the book work. I have 4 ASA manuals to get through, I've been working on them on and off for a few months, and I'm not even through the first book. I read.. study it... give it a week or two to settle in... go back and re read.. then try to take a quiz on the materials.. BOMB! go back, and reread. I'm not a stupid person... but this is really a struggle to learn.

As many say... it's like learning a whole new language. I'm starting to worry that I won't learn everything I need to for our week long class...

How did you all learn to sail? am I going about learning to sail the wrong way? can you give me some advice?
scarlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 09:28   #2

Boat: Pearson 39-2 "Sea Story"
Re: Learning from "ground zero"

And like learning a new language, a lot more of it will make sense once you put it into context.