Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-01-2024, 19:17   #1

looking for a chance to sail on Lake Superior

Suggested by another poster :

I am a novice at sailing.
However I have watched about 2 years of vids.. which has helped.

I am 65 , over all good health , but have a bad back.
I work out 3x a week , nothing with back tho.
I climb a minimum of 100 + stairs a day.

I was fishing with my brother in law in a 100+ hp in board took a wave and bounced , and felt it in my back.

I would like to sail for a 1/2 day , see what Lake Superior throws at me , and see if I can tolerate it.
If so , I will take sailing lessons thru Bayfield marina.

Later (target) to buy a Catalina 34-36 and sail the apostle islands during the summer time , and then dry dock the boat.

Can someone reach out to me , and start my new adventure in life ???
woodboro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2024, 22:19   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: looking for a chance to sail on Lake Superior

This thread will probably get responses in the spring time.
But then again, if/when things get more frozen, you might try iceboating!
https://www.iceboat.org/
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2024, 07:09   #3

Hey Don - you are a character !!!

Actually my grandfather did sail an ice boat on Madisons Lake Mendota , and went under the ice.

No thanks.

I appreciate your ideas though !!!
woodboro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2024, 07:20   #4

Boat: Tartan 3800

PM sent
Old 17-01-2024, 08:11   #5

Boat: Rafiki 37