Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2023, 18:18   #1

Mexico to Washington

I am new to sailing and I see numerous YouTube videos on adventurous people who sail south down the Pacific coast to Mexico. My question is - what is the return north to Washington like? I can't find any videos on that. Does everyone just continue to sail around the world?
Trueblue22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2023, 18:41   #2

Re: Mexico to Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trueblue22 View Post
… Does everyone just continue to sail around the world?
It’s a lot easier that way

Both current and wind flow down the coast, so the trip back is a lot less pleasant and doesn’t make for wonderful videos. Have done it several times, but given the chance I prefer the return by way of Hawaii.
HeywoodJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2023, 19:33   #3

Boat: Outremer 55L

The conventional and easier, though longer, way of returning from Southern California or Mexico to Washington State/British Columbia is via Hawaii.

However, you certainly can sail (or motor sail or motor) north up the coast. The worst part is probably the Baha Bash from Mexico to San Diego. Once In California, if you’ve got time, simply wait for a weather window with non-northerly winds and get to the next shelter - sometimes a day sail and sometimes an overnight. Definitely a summer time of early fall exercise - it’s starting to get late if you haven’t left the south yet.

There was a CF thread about going north a while ago so do try a search for that. Also, on YT the channel Alluring Arctic cruised their boat from Southern California to Alaska last year.
fxykty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2023, 20:05   #4