Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2015, 10:30   #1

New Sailor/Lyme Disease

Subject: Purchasing First Sailboat (Recovering from Lyme Disease; Unique Case)

Hello Everyone. New to the forum. Seems like a great community with a ton of knowledgeable and helpful sailors. I was hoping to gain some insight regarding the purchasing of my first sailboat. I am completely new to sailing, just completed my ASA 101 Basic Keelboating Class, and plan to work my way up through every level as my skills improve.

I have somewhat of a unique case, as I am still recovering from a five-year battle with Lyme Disease, so I am restricted due to the amount of physical labor some boats require. My goal is to work toward obtaining my captain’s license, while learning to sail proficiently, and then start some kind of boating business down the road once I fully regain my health. I am not working right now, so I am quite capable of getting out on the water for 4 hours each day in pursuit of my captain’s license.

I am looking for something I can singlehand. However, boats like Lasers or a Sunfish, or any boat where hiking is required are too physically taxing for me at this time. After doing a little research online, I came across a boat called the 2.4MR. It serves primarily to accommodate sailors who are handicapped, or older sailors who are no longer capable of constantly ducking under the boom. So it is specifically designed to be very easy to handle in a physical sense.