Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-05-2006, 12:21   #1

newbie has questions about heeling

Hi all,
so I'm new to this whole sailing thing - my sweetie just bought a boat so I've been out a few times now. About five times total. I've read a bunch and understand some of the basics about points of sail & such.

Fred (the sweetie) admits he's a lazy sailor and doesn't change sail as much as would be optimally efficient. We were out last weekend with his sailing buddy and they discussed reefing, but decided against it. Mostly out of laziness. So we're heeling over 30-40 degrees, which makes me really uncomfortable. It's not the up and down of plowing into waves that bothers me, not even the sliding over the waves so much, it's looking DOWN at my friend across the cockpit and feeling like if I move at all, I'll fall out of the damn boat. Also, while I understand *intellectually* that the boat won't capsize with the next four-foot wave, it still *feels* like it will when that wave hits, and I just Don't Like It.

So am I being overly sensitive? Do people get over this aversion to living at right angles to gravity? We had a discussion about it afterwards and he's agreed to reef if things get past 30 degrees. I've never been out with a reefed main, so I don't know what effect it'll actually have - though I understand it'll give us a more upright ride. He admits he "likes a wild ride", which is also why he doesn't bother to reef. I just find it uncomfortable.

Thoughts on the situation? Helpful explanation of sailing mechanics? Thanks.
annqueue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2006, 12:38   #2