Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 19:35   #1

Boat: Islander Bahama 30
Reefing question - new sailor

Wondered if I could get some help. I'm new to sailing and boating in general, having just purchased a 1983 Islander Bahama 30. It has a Kenyon boom, and I'm unclear about the whole reefing setup. The boom has a cam lock near the front for the reefing line, and it goes thru the boom and out the back, over a block/pulley.

I see the reefing clew on the main, I'm just not sure, does the line tie directly to the clew in the main, or does it go thru the clew and back around the boom?

There are no cleats on the boom underneath the reefing clew, and no signs that any ever existed. In the owners manual it looks like the reefing line comes down to the boom, but I'm not at all sure how?

The foot of the mainsail is loose, so I could wrap it around the boom, but then what?
cadteach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 19:43   #2

Re: Reefing question - new sailor

If I'm understanding yours right, the normal would be: Tie around boom, (or on deadeye provided) up through the clew cringle, down through the turning block (on side of boom or internal on end of boom) then forward to the cleat or Jam cleat on forward end of boom. Tack may have a rope or just hooks for the tack cringle.

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 17:39   #3

When you get it rigged right, practice reefing at the dock a few times so that it wont all be new to you when you actually need it. It might make a big differance for you.____Grant.
gjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2012, 18:15   #4