Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2019, 07:32   #1

Boat: 1970 Ericson 35 MKII
Rocking / Rolling Dock at Pier 39 in SF

I was recently a guest at the Pier 39 marina in San Francisco. While the location is great, the docks themselves are very rolly. I think I would have been calmer at anchor. A phone call to the marina reveals the staff there have a very 'that's just how it is' attitude with everyone convinced that the tidal surge is what causes the rolling. I studied the problem briefly and came to my own conclusion, and now I'm looking for input to support or counter this theory.

What I witnessed was glassy flat water, and the docks swaying back and forth + up and down approximately one foot in either direction. I saw many boats tied up suspended by the four corners in the middle of the slip - not tied tight to either finger. One offender at the beginning of my row, a derelict looking sailboat, was loosely tied and had scooter tires on all the dock lines acting as shock absorbers. What I witnessed was the slightest breeze would start to move the vessel, which would then start pulling on the dock lines, and the extra bounce from the scooter tire stretch caused the boat and the whole dock to start rocking like crazy.

I suggested the marina encourage or require their guests to tie up tightly to the leeward fingers, and get rid of the added rebound caused by all the scooter tire shock absorbers, and they scoffed at me.

Who has experience with rolly marinas and can attest to the cause being tidal surge related or maybe actually being caused by wind and poorly secured vessels?

Thanks in advance,