Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2024, 00:22   #1

Boat: Catalina 270
Sail Plan Reccomendations for Marina Del Rey, CA?

Hello!
I will be day sailing on a 26 Colgate out of Marina Del Rey this weekend (10AM - 6pm). This is my first time sailing MDR and it's just me. Windfinder is reporting light winds S to SSW at 4KN,

Looking for reccomendations on my sail plan(s)... I've printed out the NOAA chart for Santa Monica Bay .... initial thoughts were to sail a triangle out of the marina, maybe get as far as Will Rogers Beach, then reverse back to MDR. I'm looking through Brian Fagan's cruising guide, but the information is dated. Anything I should check out in that general area (coves, whale routes) ... also, appreciate advice on amount of commercial traffic once out to 2NM point from MDR entrance. Thanks in advance!
RoaverRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2024, 11:59   #2
ATK

Boat: Ontario 32
Re: Sail Plan Reccomendations for Marina Del Rey, CA?

I have been day sailing out Marina Del Rey weekly for about four years. Based on my experience, and having reviewed various forecasts for Saturday, I think you can expect the wind to start gradually increasing from 4-5 knots after noon, and get to 8-10 knots by 2 pm and thereafter, with the potential for gusts to 15 knots.

There shouldn’t be much commercial traffic, if any, to impact your sail. But there are often races or regattas to weave your way around.