Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2018, 06:36   #1

Boat: Hunter 33
Sailboat Batteries

Hello

Im new to sailing and just bought my first sailboat
Its a Hunter 33 and looks like I am needing new batteries

I have a scissor lift that has four deep cycle 6 volt batteries in it that are rarely used
Would it be smart to run them parallel to make 2 sets of 12 volt and use them or should I go shopping ?
RobD527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 07:24   #2

Re: Sailboat Batteries

I would go shopping. Isolate them. Two Trojan 6v golf cart is series for 12v house and then a 12v starting. Go with lead acid. Cheapest and most user friendly.
hobopacket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 07:36   #3

Location: Thhe boat is in Titusville, FL and we're back in CO for a few months resupplying the cruising kitty and raising money for our childrens dental charity www.sailing4smiles.com
Boat: 1982 Cape Dory 36 Hull #78

And date match them so they’re all the same. I did a TON of research before replacing mine and Trojans kept coming back as the best.
SSgtPitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2018, 09:40   #4

The scissor lift batteries are 6 volt duracell golf cart from sams so I could use two of them for house. There are Four 12 volt in the boat now and I dont know whats what because there's solar, inverter and charger (wires everywhere haven't figured it out yet)
Old 14-01-2018, 10:18   #5

Location: Currently cruising the Philippines, just got back from PNG & Solomons
Boat: Wauquiez 45' (now 48') catamaran
Send a message via Skype™ to Jon Hacking