Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2022, 07:16   #1

Sailing Med in June

I'm a newbie poster here so hello everyone.
I apologize in advance, as I'm sure my question has been covered at some point over the years but here goes.
As a family of 4, we have had 5 sailing trips covering Turkey Dodecanese, Ionian and Balearics, but due to school holidays, these have been restricted to the July/August high season. My kids will now be at University so we can go away in June which suits me as I'm a virtual Albino, and the med sun in August isn't my idea of fun. We can also take advantage of lack of crowds, lower cost and better wind. We prefer to anchor in a nice bay, or a free restaurant pontoon as in Turkey rather than a marina.
So where in the med has decent wind and nice safe anchorages in June please?

P.S. was very frustrated with the Ionian's "3pm onwards" wind this year as I like to sail, not motor.

Thank you.
Mo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2022, 07:23   #2
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36
Sailing Med in June

June is still high season, you really need may or October to get advantages of low season crowds and pricing.

Certainly the Ionian is classic “motoring or sailing in a gale” like a lot of the med. the eastern side of Greece is more windy.

I’d really never go seeking “ windy “ places. The gods laugh and hand you gales

Agree July and Aug can be unbearable the Ionian was rammed full this summer and 40 degrees is hot hot. We went home to Ireland to boat and basked in 17 degrees C weather , rain, three big storms and. More rain. Not crowded though. !!!!
Old 24-10-2022, 07:44   #3

Re: Sailing Med in June