Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2018, 06:08   #1

Boat: Beneteau first 26
Short wave radio ??

Hello ,
I am completely new to this and quite struggling to understand , as I get it you can receive weather on an ssb , does the same applies with normal short wave radios like https://www.amazon.com/Bands-World-Receiver-ICF-SW11-Introductory/dp/B00009VSCZ
I read on a book that they where getting the weather in a short wave radio and it made me wonder .
gmakhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 06:15   #2

Boat: Alloy Peterson 40
Re: Short wave radio ??

Generally you need one with a beat frequency ocilator or Upper and lower side band modes to receive HF voice.
Old 01-09-2018, 11:10   #3

First a couple of terms.

SSB is method to modulate your audio on a transmitter. It has no conotation of freq or band is used on, although its typically used on the HF bands.

Shortwave is set of frequencies starting just above the AM broadcast band 1.8mhz (megaherts) and ending at 30mhz, just above the US CB radio band.
Short wave is also used to indicate someone who listens the signals in these frequencies. This same range of frequencies is also called HF or High Frequency. Short wave is also used to indicate a radio that only has receive capabilities within all or part of the short wave band.

Your marine SSB radio uses frequencies within the HF/shortwave band.

The radio in your link is an AM/FM and specifically says not for SSB use.
Broaden your amazon search shortwave radio SSB

You will find something like https://www.amazon.com/Tecsun-PL-660...wave+radio+SSB
Old 01-09-2018, 11:42   #4

Thank you , it kind of seems a good alternative for weather information .
Old 01-09-2018, 13:42   #5
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎