Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2011, 05:55   #1

Boat: Fontaine Pajot, Venezia 42
US Customs Clearance

I could not find this topic and it probably because it is so simple.
This is my first year in the Bahamas and am heading back to the Chesapeake to put my boat up for the summer.
When coming back to the US what has to be done to clear customs?
I think I call an 800 # but not sure.
I applied for this DTOPS thing but it was sent to my house and I have no information of it.
I think I will enter Florida but may head farther north.
islandguy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:25   #2

Boat: Prout Manta 38' Catamaran - Sunspot Baby
Re: Customs

Customs & Border Protection (Customs & Immigration) have a "what to know" web site at this link CBP Know Before You Go also see Pleasure Boat Reporting Requirements - CBP.gov

If you ordered the customs decal before you left but didn't receive it in time, at least get someone to send you the number. When you call the 800 number it will be easier.

The 800 number varies with the geographic area to which you return. CBP has a web site entry ports at this link Ports of Entry Locator

Getting the requirements straight from CBP is better than second hand information from those of us that have done it before.

Every year, things seem to be a little different as the Department of Homeland Security evolves.

George

Bob Seger
Sunspot Baby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:30   #3

Boat: Beneteau 32.5

Yeah, call customs. If you have both your custom's tax decal and local boater's option, they may clear you over the phone. Since, you are missing yours, they may ask you to report in person.