Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-12-2017, 09:11   #1

water tight bulk heads

Nebi warning.
Looking at live aboard mono hulls in 35 to 50 foot range. Under 200k blue water, I like the idea of steel and or aluminum, many of which have watertight bulk heads. I have only run across one brand of fiberglass boats that have watertight bulkheads this is Amel. Anybody have any experience with these watertight bulkheads. Do they work?. I would think this would be extremely important to have these if are your own the middle of the ocean with no help available. But I have no experience in crossing oceans maybe they don't work after all. Or maybe it's a cost factor. I searched online forum search and couldn't really find much information on these. anyways your thoughts on these, thanks.
45acp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2017, 10:24   #2

Re: water tight bulk heads

I came across an Endeavor 52 one time that had a watertight bulkhead in the front.
sailingunity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2017, 10:50   #3

Boat: J/42

Heck, most of them don't even have watertight companionways. But one common feature that may not be immediately obvious is that many boats have crash bulkheads or "crash boxes" that are sealed to a point somewhere above the waterline but don't completely seal off the compartment. (Often the space under the V-berth, for example.) But this can create problems with un-ventilated lockers and isolated spaces that don't drain to the bilge, so many owners end up cutting holes in them.
toddster8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2017, 11:12   #4

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop