Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-04-2017, 21:36   #1
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Too many and they’re all for sale
What you should know about brokers

I'd like to start this by saying I'm a newer broker, part of the decision to become a broker was general frustration when buying my boat. I have already agreed to run a FREE SoldBoat search for any CF user I like the research and gaining market info and am happy to help.

I wish I knew what I know now! Using a "buyers broker" is FREE... actually you're already paying for it if you're buying from a listed boat, might as well use it!

All boats on YachtWorld have a listing agreement. The listing agreement has a commission agreement outlined in it. When a boat is available for co-brokerage it means you should have someone on your side, you're already paying the commission, give half to someone on your side!

Advantages of using a listing broker:
1. They will pull a SoldBoat search for you and help advise you on a good initial offer. I usually suggest lower offers than buyers think to offer, and they get accepted. Or negotiated to less than their first thought
2. They can arrange to show you several boats listed by several brokers in one day. Send them the links you want to see. Have them go through the painful process of coordinating with the frequently slow responding listing broker and get locations of marinas and boats in the marina and make your time off work more efficient.