Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2011, 21:33   #1

Which Sailing Club to Join in the San Francisco Area ?

I'm new to sailing took ASA's Basic Keel Boat class @ Tradewinds in Richmond, but also checked out OCSC in Berkeley and not all that familiar with the others in the area. Really looking to meet other fun multi sport people to sail & hang out with.
Any suggestions on which club to join?
Maryamee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2011, 00:49   #2

Boat: 1983 Pearson 303
Re: Which Sailing Club to Join in the San Francisco Area ?

Were you on the Oakland meetup sail this evening?
groggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2011, 09:54   #3
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Pick up a copy of Latitude38, Maryamee, and you'll be able to learn just about everything you need to know regarding what's available in the Bay Area for sailors of all skill levels and interests. You can also access it online.

TaoJones
Old 18-08-2011, 10:11   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryamee View Post
I'm new to sailing took ASA's Basic Keel Boat class @ Tradewinds in Richmond, but also checked out OCSC in Berkeley and not all that familiar with the others in the area. Really looking to meet other fun multi sport people to sail & hang out with.
Any suggestions on which club to join?
There are so many ways to get experience. After BKB I bought myself a daysailer / large dinghy and learnt on that for a couple of years, also doing BCC.

Many promote the "crewing on other peoples boat" approach.