Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-10-2015, 10:01   #1

Boat: Tashiba-31
Would you consider buy a boat that sank?

Hi! I'm somewhat new to the boating world and am looking for my first boat. There is one that has caught my eye, but I'm leary as it sank once while at dock. It was raised within 24 hours.

Ignoring the engine and anything electrical - how much of an issue is this? Would the deck core likely be affected? What about wiring? The stove would probably be shot. The head?
dmksails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 10:27   #2

Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42
Re: Would you consider buy a boat that sank?

No.

S/V B'Shert
Tayana42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 10:36   #3

Boat: CS 33

I woud advise against it. Not only is the electrical and engine comprimized you stand the risk of mould and bulkhead delamination from the water egress. Most bulkheads as well as other interior furniture and trim are vaneer over ply and will eventually swell and delaminate . The cabin sole will also be suspect. Just not worth it. Another sticking point may be your ability to purchase hull insurance unless you have a very detailed survey done. Hope this helps you with your search. So many great boats out there. Peter
PDScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 10:39   #4

everything

will

be

toast
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2015, 10:49   #5

Boat: Heritage West Indies 36