Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2011, 13:48   #1
Ry.

Question Bora Bora ?

I am new to sailing and don't even have a boat yet, so I don't know much on the subject. I am usually a caribbean person, but I am wondering if I could anchor somewhere in Bora Bora (or a similar island) for decent rates. Long term is preferred, but if not,then its fine. I am on a pretty tight budget, but am willing to save a little more if I have to. I speak a lot of french, so that is no issue. Is it prohibited to anchor there? Is this unrealistic? Any advise is great.
Ry. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2011, 13:55   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
French Polynesia, of which Bora Bora is a part, requires that you post a significant cash bond (guaranteeing your departure) for cruisers.

See ➥ http://www.tahiti-tourisme.com/plann...quirements.asp

There are several anchorages in different areas of Bora Bora lagoon, and Vaitape town is interesting and boast many good restaurants and boutiques.

See also ➥ http://www.usac.com/trips/tahiti.html

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2011, 14:01   #3

Boat: Outremer 50
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave852
Depends on your passport how long you can stay. Non Eu will be a max of 3 months. No charge to anchor but anything you buy will be expensive. Lots of boats during season but not any just hanging out. You would be better of at other islands in FP where you can partially live of the land and sea.
Dave852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2011, 15:30   #4

Boat: Mason 53
G'day, mate. You will also need lots of anchor scope as most spots are in the 80 feet range. Was fortunate to be able to spend a month anchored on the east side before they closed it off when we visited French Polynesia. All the best. Cheers.
matauwhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2011, 15:39   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter