Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Pacific & South China Sea
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-10-2015, 18:51   #1

Looking to work passage from Airlie Beach to anywhere north

G'day all,

I've been introduced to this site by a friend who thought it a good way to get my plans out there, and perhaps secure passage with a friendly cruiser.

I set off from Tasmania with my car almost two months ago now. The ferry up to Melbourne and have then meandered my way up to Airlie Beach, Queensland.
A couple of months ago I quit my job and have decided that now is the time to embark on a journey that I've been toying with for over ten years now - I'm off to do a full lap of the world. Without stepping onto an aeroplane.
I have no time-frame or plan for this adventure, two/three years. Hopefully more. I'm open to any route at all.

So at the moment I've washed up in Airlie Beach, and life seems pretty good here. I plan to sell my car soon and I'm actively seeking to work my passage on a yacht, to anywhere north of here really. Which I suppose would mean S.E. Asia as the main destination. Micronesia, the Solomon Islands etc is very appealing too.

I'm a 35 year old, non-smoker, fit and able bodied, who has spent most of his career working on the water. Operating power craft, and diesel powered work boats no bigger than 14m. I have my current NSCV coxwain's, with diesel endorsement. I have approx 2.5 years commercial dive work under my belt too, although I haven't dived for a few years now.
I grew up in the Shetland Islands, so I have fair experience with being out, and being comfortable enough working in severe weather.