Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2009, 22:21   #1

Boat: Trintella 1a, 29ft
Mexico or Pacific Northwest ?

I am a school teacher with the months of June, July, and August to sail. I am thinking of heading either south to Mexico, or North to the Pacific Northwest. I am currently located on San Francisco Bay, with 3 years experience on the Bay in varied weather and water conditions. I have a Trintella 29 that I am refitting. I can trailer either north or south. Thinking of sailing south and having my son bring the trailer to Mexico at the end of the season, or trailering north and then sailing her south to SF Bay in August. I would like suggestions or comments from those more familiar with those areas during the summer months. The Trintella 29 is a solid well built boat, 29 LOA, beam 8.33", draft 4'6", displacement 8750. Any advice is welcome.
trintella1a495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2009, 23:54   #2

Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Hurricanes or almost hurricanes down there right now. I think it's almost the end of the season, but I just read about some Baja hurricanes, most of the biggies hit in Sept.
Mexico is too great to describe, IMO. Friendly, inexpensive if you shop where the blondes don't go, and loads of good food, liquor, beer, and cigars.
Lobster Puerto Nuevo style comes to mind. A deep fried lobster and all the beans and rice, salsa, and home made tortillas you can eat plus a free margarita, all for $12.00.
sww914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2009, 05:31   #3

Boat: 47' Olympic Adventure
Why not trailer back and forth from the Pac NW - it's only about a day's drive - the sailing is more interesting in Puget sound and the Gulf islands than on the outside anyway. And you won't have to retrieve your trailer.
Lodesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-08-2009, 10:28   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter