Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2009, 12:36   #1

Boat: Catalina 320 - Resolute
Military sailing in Hawaii

I am a submarine driver who is relatively new to Hawaii (6 mos on Oahu) and new to this forum.

I am interested in owning a 30-35 foot monohull, but have more or less talked myself out of it for now. Most of the reasons relate to being in the military and living on Oahu. Since this forum isn’t light on opinions, I’d be interested in some thoughts on my “new guy” observations since moving to Oahu.
  • The market for boats on Oahu is very thin – there isn’t much to choose from in the 30-35 foot range as compared to shopping on the West Coast. Therefore, you have to choose from a limited selection of boats on the market or have something delivered from the West Coast.
  • Moving a boat to/from Oahu when you inevitably get orders to the mainland will be ridiculously expensive (if you ship it) or require time that you may not have (if you sail it). Additionally, it seems that the charter market here is pretty thin as well, so your option of leaving the boat in Hawaii and placing it with a charter company (who may not be interested in <35 foot monohull anyway) is probably not realistic.
  • The consensus view (not necessarily my opinion . . . yet) seems to be that Hawaii is not a friendly place to sail. Some reasons are weather/geography related and others are facilities/government related (lack of marinas, guest slips, etc). There are numerous posts on the forum that reinforce this theme.
  • The military marinas that I have looked in to, while nice, have extensive waiting lists for a slip (I might get Master’s tickets first).