Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Pacific & South China Sea
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2024, 09:22   #1

Boat: 36’ allied princess ketch
Should I sail from SE Alaska to Kenai Peninsula?

Hi everyone! I bought a 36’ blue water rated ketch to live on in southeast Alaska this winter and am trying to learn how to sail it. I have gone out a handful of times, and motored up channel and sailed down, and feel like I’m picking it up relatively easily since I am a professional pilot (of the sky, not water). I’m curious what recommendations you all have for attempting to sail my boat north, and if this is a good idea with how novice I am. Thanks so much!
Danirmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2024, 17:47   #2

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37
Re: Should I sail from SE Alaska to Kenai Peninsula?

Welcome Danirmart! There is a social group here called Pacific Coast Sailors and I’ve been stashing away threads that folks may find useful. I am not sure but there may be a thread in there somewhere that discusses your idea. Good luck!
Don C L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2024, 19:29   #3

Location: Meandering about the Gulf of Alaska coast [NNE Pacific]— where the internet doesn't always shine... [Even Elon's...] Homeport: Wrangell Island
Boat: Nauticat 43 [S&S Staysail Ketch]

Welcome aboard Danirmart.

If you trust your boat, there is no reason not to cross the Gulf of Alaska during a comfortable weather window since you already have experience with horizontal sails.

It is a slog single handing, good with at least one other [hopefully experienced] crew, and a cake walk with 2 extra [experienced] crew… [Think 4 hours on; 8 off…]