Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Pacific & South China Sea
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2011, 06:28   #1

Suggestions for a Good Place to Start Hitchhiking in July - Hong Kong ?

Hi folks,

I've never done any serious sailing before but I'm thinking about trying to start crewing on yachts this summer. I'm in Beijing right now and thought I'd get started by heading down to Hong Kong in July and seeing where I can hitch a ride to. But reading through another thread in this forum, it sounds like anything in the South China Sea would not be a good route for a beginner, especially at this time of the year. Would that be an accurate assessment?

Does anyone have suggestions for a good starting point in Asia in July? Where am I most likely to find ships that will take on inexperienced crew? Hong Kong would be the most convenient starting point since I can just ride the train down to get there, but if my odds are slim I can head somewhere else first to start looking, or put this plan off until another date.

And while I'm at it, does anyone have other suggested reading material for beginners? I just ordered a copy of "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Oceans" which I hope will help, and am trawling through threads on this forum. Any other places I should look?

Thanks very much for advice!

Joel
jrosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2011, 16:36   #2

Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 31 Monsun, 30'9"
Re: Suggestions for a Good Place to Start Hitchhiking in July - Hong Kong ?