Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2021, 21:18   #1

Getting started

Hello all. i am located in Southern Ontario, Canada. I am looking to learn to sail. 46 and a fast learner with hands on experience. I have never sailed but have owned a power boat for several years. I have been reading and soaking up what I can but eventually would love to get onboard and do a cruise or outings with experienced people to learn more.

Is there a chance anyone is looking for a totally inexperienced crew member?

I am very good at fixing almost anything mechanical. I am a licensed diesel mechanic, fixed up cars, boats, snowmobiles, tractors, excavators homes and lots more also have done plumbing and electrical. I stay calm under pressure listen well, can take criticism and admit when I'm wrong.
Coldcanuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2021, 06:19   #2

Re: Getting started

You sound like a real catch, CC. Are you perhaps single?

Haha and Welcome aboard!

Just for an fyi, remember it's a bit at the end of the season for us here. A lot of boats will probably be all crewed-up for the rest of the season or they'll be hauling in a couple of months (generally October).

Is there a Club near you where you could join as a social member? Or go to a nearby marina and walk the docks looking to see if someone is going out alone and might like an extra pair of hands...?

In any case, don't give up. You'll be able to get a ride at some point, I'm sure.

Fair winds,
LittleWing77
LittleWing77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2021, 07:01   #3

Yes I am single 😙 Would love to meet someone who is open to sailing the world eventually!! For now baby steps lol.