Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-12-2023, 00:47   #1

Lightbulb Relocating: USA South East & Florida to Dominican Republic

Looking into purchasing a craigslist sailboat ("old" monohull 33 to 36ft but in descent condition, no fixer-upper) in the USA and to sail it to the Dominican Republic and leave it there in Luperon permanently and rent it out via AirBnB

As a straight 45 year old fit and energetic megayacht engineer I have extensive experience as a crew member and holding watches. My sailing experiences are existing but limited.
Holding STCW, MCA License, Cayman Endorsement, ... I can fix any technical issues and have been up the mast, changing light-bulbs in a bosuns-chair on 300ft sailing yachts.
This is not a cruise, I am not a tour-operator that you can rely on, we need to function as a team, and you have to be able to hold a watch and know how to handle lines, sails and whinches.

No generator, NO water-maker (we will be carrying 100 gallons of fresh water) still looking for clean crew that is not brushing their teeth with the tap runing (not looking for crew without teeth either ). no hot showers, very limited battery bank, NO REFRIGERATOR. Lots of fishing on the way.

here the NO's:
NO Hamburgers
NO French-Fries
NO Airconditioner
NO ATM
NO Cell-Service
NO Internet
NO Starlink
NO Facebook
NO Whatsapp
NO Instagram

NO Social Media
NO Cigarettes (so no smokers please, besides that you stink and make burn-marks, you guys get grumpy and unbearable when you run out of your precious goods)
everything for extended periods of time