Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2021, 10:45   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Noord Nederland Seahawk 31
St Augustine to Norfolk

Looking for one or two crew to help me move my 30-foot boat north from St Augustine to Norfolk, or for part of the trip. Currently on the hard in St Augustine finishing up a repair, hopefully relaunching next week (the week of April 5th). Planning on taking the ICW all or most of the way, but considering an offshore hop or two.

I'm a college student and solo woman, so women and college-aged (or close to it) preferred; I'm open to those who may still be learning or who want to learn more about cruising/keelboats, just having the extra able hand is super helpful.

I can afford to cover groceries and don't expect help with slip fees or fuel, but likely can't afford to help pay for any travel. PM me if interested!
KelseyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2021, 11:29   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Beneteau 432, C&C Landfall 42, Roberts Offshore 38
Re: St Augustine to Norfolk

Just be aware that a trip up the ICW from St. A to Norfolk is likely to take a month...or more..and that is traveling 10-12 hours a day. Some people do run the ICW at night, but I don't recommend this.
Forget about sailing the ICW, you will be motoring every inch of the way.
Be sure to have plenty of spare diesel containers.
The tides in Georgia can vary from 7' to 10'...some of those tides have extremely powerful current.

Learn to look behind you as well as in front to ensure you stay " centered" in a channel. Don't just depend on the magenta line on your chartplotter, be vigil.