Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Cruising Business & Commerce > Crew Positions: Wanted & Available
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2023, 09:33   #1

Writer available to support Transpacific voyage

Hello all,

Do you need a crew member to help with a transpacific trip in early 2024 from Asia to North America?

I am a nonfiction author writing a new book for Penguin Random House, one of the world's largest book publishers, and I'd be both happy and grateful to join your crew.

My book is about animal societies around the world, and the final leg of my research involves crossing the Pacific from East or Southeast Asia to North America. My original intention was to be a passenger on a cargo ship going along this route, but as you may know, most of the cargo ship companies have not resumed offering these opportunities after shutting them down during Covid.

As such, I'm exploring other opportunities to get across the Pacific by boat sometime between December 2023 - Summer 2024. I'm extremely flexible on the departure and arrival locations, as long it goes from the west side of the Pacific to the east side.

Many thanks in advance for your time, from a fellow explorer.

- Ryan
PacificAuthor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2023, 10:25   #2

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23
Re: Writer available to support Transpacific voyage

You better off insisting on the cargo ship when and if it becomes available again. Sailboats are very rare to cross west to east against wind and currents. You may if you are lucky, find a boat coming back from Japan or Hawaii. Best wishes for your book.
SVTatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2023, 10:33   #3