Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-01-2024, 19:19   #1

Boat: Mariner 39
1971 Whitby 42 vs. 1981 Mariner 39

I’m looking at a couple of boats and am having a hard time deciding between the two. I feel like I have a pretty good handle on the pros and cons of each boat and the tradeoffs between them. I could use some feedback on what I might not be considering, and heck, just opinions from the peanut gallery.

The boat will be in SoCal. I’ve been sailing for 15 years, and this is going to be my third boat (Ericson 27 and Cal 34). My usage would be weekend trips to the Channel Islands for the next 1-2 years, then coastal cruising down to Mexico, etc. After that, who knows? I’m looking at something in the 40’ range as I’d like to live aboard for a while… I like having a cabin that’s not the v-berth. I’m not into racing and don’t hesitate to fire up the engine when it’s calm. My total budget is ~$50k.

The 1971 Whitby 42 (ketch) has been very well restored and is turnkey. New standing rigging, tanks, autopilot, repainted decks, generator, davits, solar, etc. Low hours on a rebuilt Perkins 65HP engine.