Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-11-2020, 20:07   #1

Boat: Bristol 27 #182, MystereS 17' Catamaran #531
Send a message via Skype™ to EarlWer
1984 Alberg 29 looks very nice. What am I missing?

I want to buy a pocket cruiser before winter and work on it over the coming cold months. I have some sailing experience and good mechanical skills.

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace...98369444601305

This 1984 Alberg 29 is now $12,000 (it was $14,000 last month) looks very nice but:

Yanmar 2GM needs work. Owner has quote for $1,900 to replace injectors and I don't know what else. I could probably get a copy of the quote.

I need to move boat about 540 km (340 mi).

Most of the paint and any interior work I can do myself.

The plan would be to get it sailable and safe, and then make improvements over time.

There are a lot of Alberg owners around, so that's an advantage.

The current owner bought it in 2017, moved it 1200 km (745 mi) and ran out of steam. I have a copy of the survey from that purchase.

Comments?
Old 17-11-2020, 18:09   #2

Boat: Sabre 402
Re: 1984 Alberg 29 looks very nice. What am I missing?

Would you be moving the boat over the road, since it's getting chilly (and dangerous) for sailing? 540km would not be fun with an engine that "needs work" in any case, even in summer. The pictures look nice, but they don't tell you about things like leaks, bouncy decks, or frayed rigging. A lot can happen in to a boat in three years, so the survey may provoke interesting talking points, but needs to be taken as obsolete. Be sure to budget at least $600 for new cushions, please.