Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 13:08   #1
Wanderer

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Used to be San Francisco Bay, now PNW, soon to be the Caribbean
Boat: Jeanneau 43 DS and soon Leopard 45
30-32 foot boat for a newbie

Hello,

This is my first post to the forum and I am a newbie in sailing, will very much appreciate input on a boat I am contemplating to buy.

First a bit of a background. I always had a passion in sailing. Even though I have lived in three different continents, no place I have lived before allowed me to go into sailing. About 4 months ago, I moved to San Francisco Bay Area and starting sailing immediately. Funny that I got my first US sailing certificate (Basic Keelboat) before I got a US driver's license, one needs to get their priorities right ;-) I took the path of learning via school, I recently got my Basic Cruising certificate, my intention is to get all US Sailing certifications up to and including Offshore Passage Making. I like my sailing school and learning things in a systematic and structured manner. I am an engineer by training so, a systematic learning suits my thought process well. I am fascinated by the idea of making an ocean passage one day. At this stage, this is more a dream but I am trying to get everything right to achieve this one day.