Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2010, 13:21   #1

'73 Dufour 27' or '37 Ray Alcock Wood 25'

Hello Forum! Im a new member here and I am just getting started in sailing. I plan to pick up a small 25-30 Foot Sailboat that will be based in USVI, for seasonal cruising and eventually further in the caribbean. Anybody have any experience with these 2 models? what are some opinions and knowledge of these?

Thanks

J

1973 Dufour 27 Sail Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com

1937 Ray Alcock Classic Wooden Sloop Power Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com
Old 18-01-2010, 14:29   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Both appear to be nice boats in the pic's.... pro's and con's....
The wooden Alcock boat will require much more maintenance and upkeep in the Caribbean as the sun will dry her out very quickly if lifted out during Hurricane season, her varnish will not last half as long as up north... she'll be more susceptible to deck leaks... so unless you plan to spend time maintaining her instead of 'Cruising'.... go plastic fantastic...
The Dufour will need much less maintenance, less chance of deck leaks, won't dry out on the hard.... you won't have the worry of worm, rotting frames/planks etc.... your only real concern is .... Is she sound... solid deck, no delamination or serious osmosis, rudder and tube are ok and are the keel bolts sound.
If you want a head turner go Alcock....
If you want a cheap functional cruising boat go Dufour...

You can't beat a people up for 75 years and have them say.. "I Love You.. ".
"It is better to die standing proud, than to live a lifetime on ones knees.."