Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2016, 15:58   #1

Boat: American Mariner 24'
American Mariner - first boat

Hi, new to sailing and new to forum. While I have limited sailing experience (ASA 101), and a couple of day trips I would like to purchase my first boat. I live in a land locked state, however, we have a couple of very large lakes. I am looking at purchasing an American Mariner 24ft (I don't know if it is the 7 or the 7.5).
I have been unable to locate any useful information regarding this boat; the main use would be lake sailing however I would like any input on coastal cruising capabilities, pros, cons, handling, basically any information on this boat would be helpful for a beginner.
ClassicalBGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 16:28   #2

Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Re: American Mariner - first boat

I don't know the boat, but looked it up on sailboat data.

AMERICAN 24 sailboat specifications and details on sailboatdata.com

By the numbers not a racer type, but looks like a worthy lake boat or coastal cruiser to me. Some hardy souls could make that a livaboard.

Does it have the yanmar diesel or and outboard?

Someone here probably owned or owns one.

As always be careful to inspect it well, deck condition, standing rigging, etc. Ask the owner a lot of questions about maintenance.

Best of luck.
Old 09-05-2016, 16:44   #3

Thank you, four winds...