Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-06-2012, 22:34   #1

An old lady who can show me a good time!

Hi everyone,
i'm new to sailing and the forum and therefore feel out of my comfort zone when looking for the above!

I only have a £4k-£7k budget and would like a seaworthy 8m(ish) cruiser that will teach me the ropes in a gentle fashion but might (wishful thinking perhaps) have the stamina to stay with me long enough to tackle longer passages over to the EU Continent. i'm UK based BTW!

People usually suggest that if you can "just afford to spend £xyz pounds, then you'll have a really nice one" but you end up way out of budget like that. With the modest budget in mind i'm realistic enough to realise she will be of a certain age, but therefore cheap to insure and will show the real costs of ownership/maintenance.

Being new to this, it's not like cars/planes or even horses where I have a knowledge of makes/models/breeds to go for or stay away from. At present i'm guided by looks and gleaned info about true seaworthiness/build quality. So far this has thrown up Ecume de Mer, Westerly Centaur and Offshore 8.

Any other makes or models to add to/remove from, the "go see" list?

Thanks all - its a generic question and therefore a nightmare to 'search' for on any forum.

Kind regards

Simon
simonkn8574 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2012, 05:06   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: An old lady who can show me a good time!

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Simon.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2012, 05:28   #3