Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2017, 12:59   #1

Boat: Jeanneau 45DS
Ask Vs Sale price

I am particularly interested in several boats that seem most common in the Nth American market.
This is a market I have no experience of.
Models include Passports, Morgan and IPs.
Please don't turn this into a model debate [emoji1]
My Q is are the asking prices realistically what I should expect to pay or are they typically expecting a percentage hit?
Yes, I know that survey results will affect price but its usual to agree a figure before survey.
Any tips?
Thanks
Thames 4 Blood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 13:19   #2

Re: Ask Vs Sale price

The normal expectation in the United States, when buying a big-ticket item (car, boat, house, etc.), it is expected that you will offer something less than the asking price. Just how much less is the difficult question.

Right now, here in Florida at least, it is a buyers market. In general, unless a boat is in very good condition, and offered for a very good price, there will not be buyers lined up to snap it up if you don't offer enough. So no harm in offering less, and negotiating.

There is a lot of variation in asking prices, with some sellers asking prices very reasonable, and some almost ridiculously high. There are boats out there that I would not even offer half of the asking price. And there are others where I would probably offer 90% - 95% of the asking price. You just have to spend a lot of time looking in order to get a feel for what is reasonable.

And the truth is, for those boats that are ridiculously over-priced, I probably would not offer half the asking price. I simply would not offer anything at all. Until the seller gets more realistic with what his/her boat is worth, I would rather not waste my time.