Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2013, 05:18   #1

Buying a Sailboat

I have limited experience of sailing (a year on a heron and then a year on a 23 Hood...sailed on Lake Macquirie and a short cruise on east coast of Australia. I'd like to buy a sailboat for coastal cruising and trips to Vanuatu. I feel overwhelmed by the variety of boats for sale and would appreciate any advice members may have. (I am 65 yrs old; good health, and solo).
roderickwaller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 22:45   #2

Boat: Baltic 38DP
Without trying to sound disrespectful, I think your question is way too generic. I would suggest buying a book on purchasing a sailboat (there are many), get to know the various types of boat, check the internetfora (like this one) to find out more ones you like, and then ask more focused questions. Anyone here could otherwise spend hours on typing perhaps leading you onto the garden path. Buying a boat involves serious commitment and money, it is not to be taken lightly (in my humble opinion).

Onno
JazzyO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 00:09   #3

Boat: Swarbrick 40
Re: Buying a Sailboat

Hi Rod
Maybe you could give us more detail.
Rough budget will help. New or old?
I can give you a few models available around our neck of the woods but need more info.
For example A Swanson 36 is a great boat, seaworthy, not to big and there are usually A few for sale around here, or maybe you are looking for something newer?

Jeff
Old 04-12-2013, 02:33   #4

Thanks for your reply Jeff.
I'm looking for a used yacht around $30000. The swanston sounds ok; I'll do some research. Thanks again.
Old 04-12-2013, 03:26   #5

You could also try
Cavalier 32