Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2017, 07:28   #1

Boat: Etap, 28i
Coastal?

Hi everyone,

Over the holidays, Tracy and myself have spent considerable time researching sailboats. What we find is more confusion instead of clear direction. One person hates a certain brand, while another loves it and has made it home while others on supposedly better brands put out distress calls ect. I realize the skipper has a lot to do with this.

Noticing that many responses to requests for info start with: "that is a pretty vague question, can you elaborate please" I present you an essay on our current confusion

My budget is up to 100k Canadian, around 70k USD.
Thinking a smaller 32 footer ect, because I am a newbie and (un)fortunately a lot of the sailing will be done single handed. One person wants lines led to cockpit, while another wants the winches on the mast because the jib is bound to get tangled in heavy weather

Not wanting to spend a lot of time working on the boat in the beginning, tho the maintenance doesn't scare me at all. Been an electrician/communications tech for thirty years.

Tracy really wants a shower, so that is a must. A fridge would be nice as we plan to spend weeks in remote locations just hanging out.

We have seriously thought of buying a fresh water boat from the great lakes, its not a real big deal to get one to Nl from there.

The first few years will involve circumnavigation of Newfoundland. 6000 miles of coastline and always sheltered harbour within a days run. Heres a link to a Youtube video of what its like here.

Then head across to Nova Scotia and spend a season or so around there, once again coastal cruising.

From there we want to head south to the Bahamas for some extended time on board. Perhaps even making it longer term