Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2024, 06:00   #1

Boat: S2 11.0 Aft Cockpit
Cutter vs. Ketch rigs

I'm looking for opinions on cutter vs. ketch rigged boats. I am talking to the owner of a Mauritius 43' center cockpit ketch, and also a rear cockpit cutter rigged boat in the same size range.

We've sailed our 36' sloop around the Northeast (Maine to New Jersey), Gulf of Maine and Block Island Sound being the most open water we've done; but we'd like to do more coastal cruising in the next few years, and maybe take the boat to the Caribbean at some point, for a few seasons. I have no experience with these other rigs, and I'd like to hear what people's experience and advice is for a fairly agile couple with extensive sloop experience, when transitioning to the handling these other types of rigs.
Old 06-06-2024, 06:12   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Re: Cutter vs. Ketch rigs

I cruised a ketch for most of my time aboard. Given all considerations, but one; I would have selected the cutter. My choice of the ketch was to have clearance under the 55' bridges which are a common restriction on the US east Coast. I past times, before the mechanical innovations of sail handling, a ketch may have been favored due to the smaller sail sizes, but that is no longer an issue.
Old 06-06-2024, 06:32   #3

Boat: Morgan Out Island 41