Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2015, 11:44   #1

Boat: Whitby 55
External Water Ballast

I had this though many years ago but lost it in my mind until yesterday.

Background. I've been cruising on my Hunter 376 for a few years now. Below is a picture of my routes I've taken. Some of the water I've sailed gets pretty rough at times and I found myself wishing I had a much heavier keel in those situations. I've wondered what it would be like if I were on an IP or something similar. However, there are times when I've very glad I have my Hunter 376 such as my last leg where I was doing 6.5 knots close reaching in 9 knots apparent but the IP behind me was doing 3.1 (according to AIS). They soon turned on the iron genny and motor sailed the whole way while I sailed the whole way.

So my desires to buy a heavier boat has gone down quiet a bit. I like my boat and she does well for me. However, an external water ballast just might make my boat sail much better in those nasty conditions such as 30 knots and 10 foot steep seas where I have 3 reefs in the main and two in the jib to keep the heel down to a comfortable 15 degrees. Problem with that is of course I slow down to about 5.4 knots and it's a bit bouncy.

So, what are opinions on this site about using an external water ballast that can hold $1,200 lbs? Yes, I want to keep this discussion focused on this question and not the question 'why are you cruising on a Hunter' or 'why don't you buy a different boat'. Let's just say I have my reasons for those types of questions

I guess the issues I'm worried about are: