Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2018, 03:53   #1

First Boat!! please help!

Hi Everyone.

I've been sailing for about 10yrs, started with dinghies and chartered in BVIs and Puerto Rico over the last 5yrs. I've never owned a boat but now that kids are becoming easier to manage (6 and 4yrs old) we are thinking to buy our first monohull. To be honest, I've been browsing yachworld on and off for the last 4 yrs mostly dreaming, comparing and researching so i have an idea of what's out there. having said this, i'm still undecided on what is best for us as a family.

Cruising areas for us will be south florida, bahamas, caribbean. We would like something solid, bluewater.

- budget of 150k max 180k USD (so i'd imagine 150k for boat plus fixing some stuff)
- something fairly recent, 10 max 15yrs old.
- ideally something that can easily be singlehanded (that i can use on my own and with family)
- 35-40ft
- i love center cockpit but we also like to have lot of space outside so maybe aft would be better
- something easy to re-sell in say 4-6yrs when we would think to upgrade to bigger boat and do some serious cruising.
- I love Southerly's but they are pricey. I also looked at Najad, Malo, but same story.

I'm not sure if the best strategy is to get something relatively cheap/low quality (Beneteau, Bavaria, Hunter) use it to death and then upgrade in 5yrs to a proper bluewater or if I should go straight into some high quality boat even if small in size (as i don't want something that is too old). any advice?

thanks
Veneziano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 05:42   #2

Boat: 53' Cutter