Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2020, 21:55   #1

Boat: Saving up for my first boat
Freshwater boat in the ocean??

Is it sensible to buy a boat that has spent it's life in freshwater, if your plan is to cruise in the ocean?

On a gut level that strikes me as a bad idea, but I'm a complete newbie so what do I know. Looking for my first boat...

I live in Dallas, several good-size lakes nearby, and a friend said, "Why aren't you shopping around the nearby lakes?" and I couldn't think of a good reason.

Does it make sense or completely dumb?
Jamesiv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2020, 03:24   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: Freshwater boat in the ocean??

Freshwater boats are typically the best deals. Their season is shorter, they don’t suffer from corrosion....etc.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2020, 05:14   #3

Boat: 1968 Columbia 50

You may have to switch your anodes, as Magnesium is recommended for fresh, and zinc for salt water(verify what you might have come purchase time)...other than that...nothing comes to mind. Fresh water boats are generally have less corrosion..
Old 20-12-2020, 21:47   #4

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37

Freshwater boats generally have less corrosion. I am curious why your gut reaction was that it was a bad idea? What were you concerned about?

Welcome aboard by the way!
1962 Columbia 29 MKI #37
Don C L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2020, 22:07   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don C L View Post