Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2020, 16:27   #1

Boat: 2000 Beneteau 361
Help me with an out of state purchase private purchase with a loan

Hoping I can find some help here to help me get this all straight on the order of everything that I need to do.

Just got my offer accepted on a boat out of Ohio. I am a resident of Michigan.

I have a survey scheduled for tomorrow.

I'll also be applying for financing tomorrow.
What will I need from the private seller to complete the financing application?

After the successful survey, I'll have to send the money over or get a check.

Then, I need to have the boat title assigned to me.

How does the title get signed over if I'm going to have a bank lien on it?

Do I go to the Ohio BMV to get a new, official title in my name, or can I just take the original assigned title to the Michigan Secretary of State and have it all transferred in one step?

Will the lender send me the money for the boat and then I give it to the seller or is it wired directly? If it's sent to the seller, does he refund me the amount for the sales tax that I'm borrowing?
Iduna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2020, 07:28   #2

Re: Help me with an out of state purchase private purchase with a loan

Help on any of the questions would be great, even if you don't know the answer to all of it.

Lots of parallel work being done right now, just want to make sure it all comes together properly at the end.
Old 12-06-2020, 07:34   #3