Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2022, 16:23   #1

how much

I know the mechanics of sailing pretty well, and have a good bit of experience sailing on lakes. I don't know much about the ocean however. I'm doing the midlife crisis thing, and plan on buying a bluewater boat to live on and cruise the world once I have become competent. What I don't know, is if I will be able to buy one for 30 to 40k with another 10 to 15k of potential repairs/upgrades. I am a very competent carpenter and "builder/fixer" so I can do any work myself. Thoughts? I would prefer to buy something that needs very little work below the waterline.
thnkfree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2022, 16:39   #2

Boat: Hanse 430e
Re: how much

55k all in is not alot. Sure many have done it for less. Watch Sam Holms and Wind Hippie Holly who are out there and doing it. If you are mid-life crisis then I expect that you are over 40 so I will not say you can do it just like them.

Go for it. Go and get at least a few miles offshore before you commit to a permanent lifestyle sailing around the world. Your budget would be limiting for me, heck you can easily spend 10k on just new electronics. 10k on a couple of sails. and 10k dicking around making it a live aboard. The sad thing is that alot of expensive repairs hide below the waterline. blisters, keels, keeping the water out.

So go for it. You dont want to regret it. Just realize that living aboard means that you deal with boat everyday. repairs, improvements, everything. its everyday and its not an inexpensive undertaking.
Dogscout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2022, 18:26   #3

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23

Quote:
Originally Posted by thnkfree View Post